-=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- (c) WidthPadding Industries 1987 0|461|0 -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=- -=+=-
Socoder -> Blitz -> Passive Net Gaming

Wed, 07 Jul 2010, 16:30
BGDDisco
I have an idea for a game. Well, actually, a bit more than that - I wrote a nice little 2 player game (using Blitz2D), a word game where players take turns, trying to better their opponent and/or restrict their next available moves through tactics. At the end of the day it is a pass-and-play turn-based game with no time limit to pressure the combatants. Think Chess or Scrabble, or a kinda combo of those.
Now, the next move for me is to make it playable over the net. BlitzPlay seems to allow this, but I am a total newbie in this area. May I ask advice from other SoCoders?
My questions.
1. The HostNetGame command. Does this have to be on a server? If so how do I access a server to 'host' my code.

2. Is it better to have each gamer have a full version of my game with dictionary, rules checking etc (kind of p2p-alike), or simply a 'front-end' that presents the player with his turn and send a packet to the server which checks the player's turn is valid, calculates points and returns a packet to player and updates opponent (a p1-server-p2).

3. This game would be ideal for mobile phones, but they use Java. Any easy way to convert Blitz2(or3)D source to Java?

I will appreciate any advice or help offered by anyone here. Pro Forma Thanks already.

-=-=-
God gave Man a brain...and a penis...but only enough blood to run one at a time!
Wed, 07 Jul 2010, 21:05
CodersRule
#2: You'll want to store rule-checking on the server.
If you, on the client, try to do something, pretend the following happens: